A history is being compiled, with articles on this site. Please contact Paul Willyams on 03 942 2881 or
if you have any information that might help.
The club was incorporated on the 25th July 1935, following five years of preparation and debate. Originally it was called the Mount Pleasant Boating Club, and included motor boats, and only changed its name in 1962.
The club owes a lot to founding members including W. de Thier, who took out the original lease on Scott Park, and the Buxton family, whose boat the Peikatini was the rescue boat for many years.
Club facilities have developed over the years, and the club now boasts superb parking and rigging areas, generously sized buildings, excellent ramps and shallow approach areas, a fleet of rescue boats and other facilities.
For many years races were started from Morten’s Jetty, to the east of the club. Now all that remains is a racing buoy, and races are started either from the comfort of the startbox in the Clubhouse or on the water.
A feature of the club surrounds is the Ferrymead Bridge. The original swingbridge (which only swung once) was replaced in 1965 and can be seen near Ferrymead. The bridge is being replaced once again this year.